The cull or slaughter of the badger

Dead badger, Kennels Road near Churston - geog...

Dead badger, Kennels Road near Churston – geograph.org.uk – 864612 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

THE BADGER,

We all know of the Badger or know where we can find them,even if we have never seen one,most of us that drive will have seen at some point a dead Badger on the side of the road.

You either love them or hate them,there has been a long campaign for the slaughter or cull of the Badger for many years,with a lot of the general public in favour of supporting the badger because it is part of our countryside.

On the other hand there is the Farmer who for many years has seen an increase in the Badger population and also the rise in cases of TB [bovine tuberculosis].

In Wales on the 13th january 2010 The Welsh Assembly have given the go ahead for inhumane cull of the animal,which will hopefully reduce the reported cases of TB.

I am sure like me that there isn’t any full bloodied proof that a cull of the Badger will eradicate the disease totally, but it might slow down the process of the spread of TB,

In July 2011 after a long campaign to halt the cull after a Court Hearing it was halted

On the 15th of December 2011 the uk government ie, Westminster decided also to look into the cull of the Badger,now me for one has worked on a dairy farm in Shropshire UK and have been very fortunate that my Boss did not have any cases of TB within his dairy herd, But reported cases not to far from his farm had.

I myself think they are a big part of our Countryside but I am also realistic and sometimes things need to be done for the sake of our countryside.

I have travelled many miles over the years of driving and to my part I have seen many dead Badgers on the side of the road, road kill you say well, maybe not.

It is not unknown for Farmers or Game-keepers to shoot the Badger then dump it on the side of the road,to make it look like it was hit by a car, in one area alone I noticed over a period of 12 months 6 -8 dead animals on the side of the road which was within a mile long stretch.,

Now I know the Badger is increasing in numbers but are they all suicidal I will leave that up to you.

About guitars1965

Hi my name is ian I enjoy fishing, ,reading ,cycling and walking the canals of Shropshire when I get time, But my biggest passion is my Kawasaki zx9r motorbike ,I love going to the coast in the summer and just hanging out and taking in the sea breeze with a bag of chips.
This entry was posted in wild life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment